Limoncello and Christmas Cake

Over the weekend we mixed up a batch of limoncello. This was a nice easy recipe though I did have trouble working out when the sugar syrup had reached the right point. I ended up testing whether it coated the back of a spoon. We also had too much vodka but I think that was because our bottle was a little to small for the full amount and we hadn’t planned for using two bottles. Now we just have to remember to shake it everyday this week and it should be ready to drink in a month or so.

I also baked our Christmas cake this weekend. It’s the first time I’ve actually made one (first time for a fruit cake too) and I won’t know if it came out all right until Christmas which is a bit annoying. I used Nigella Lawson’s recipe. She has ingredient lists for multiple sized tins so I just used the numbers for the tin size I have (I don’t have a link for the recipe but it’s in both Feast and How to be a Domestic Goddess and I’d assume Nigella’s Christmas too). There’s a lot of fruit (sultanas, raisins, currants, cherries and mixed peel) and I have various amounts of leftovers that I shall have to think what to do with. It’s now well wrapped and hiding in a cupboard.

1 Comment

Filed under Food

One response to “Limoncello and Christmas Cake

  1. Pingback: Tis the season … | Azzy's Attic

Leave a comment