Taggy Dinosaurs

The youngest and I recently attended a 1 year old’s birthday party. The wee girl is her favourite person to see on the school run (she’s in the same class as her big brother) and we thought we’d better come up with a present. With no time to go shopping and nothing in the present stash suitable for toddlers it had to be a me made. With two older brothers in the house I figured dinosaurs might be a hit and had a quick Google for ideas. Popping out was this idea of a stegosaurus with ribbon tags for the spikes. I’ve made taggie items before for toddlers so this appealed and had the advantage of using some of my ribbon stash. I ended up with two as the first smaller one was made of too think material and I struggled to turn it out. I then made the bigger one but my daughter convinced me to finish the little one as well even if it did end up with a slightly wonky leg and tail stitching.

Pattern: from bubbles and bobbins here

Materials: scrap lightweight denim and cord. Some scrap quilting cotton for the spots. Embroidery thread for the eye. Various ribbons.

Modifications: I added the appliqué spots. I ended up cutting out the dinosaur with seam allowance even though the pattern tells you not too and found it much easier to work with. I embroidered the eyes with a few stitches of double up embroidery cotton. The mouth is narrow, close zigzag on the machine.

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby, Craft, Sewing

Leave a comment