Messenger bag and accessories

I mentioned previously that my next sewing project was a messenger bag. This is the Organised Office Bag from The Bag Making Bible by Lisa Lam. This is the 4th bag I’ve made from this book and it’s a very good book for all aspects of bag making.

I like making bags and keep finding different reasons for why I need a different one. This one doesn’t really have a reason though the cross-body strap is more useful for carrying whilst also carrying a baby. I purchased the fabric from Minerva Crafts. The outer grey is a printed canvas and the inside a quilting poplin. I love the butterflies in all their rainbow glory. I purchased a metre of each fabric and had enough leftover to make a clutch (Noodle-head again), a card wallet, a project bag and a dpn holder. I had one hiccup in making the bag. The flap pieces and the body pieces are very similar and I attached the pockets to the flap instead of the body. I was able to unpick and move the bottle pocket and the pen holders but the zip pocket requires cutting the fabric to insert it so that one is still in the flap rather than the bag body. It’s only a small pocket and I suspect I’ll use it infrequently so probably not a disaster. There is lots of interfacing in the bag – you can see that it stands on it’s own, which has made it nice and sturdy and it’s big enough to put my laptop in as well should that be needed.

Messenger bag from the Bag Making Bible by Lisa Lam and various accessories, fabric from Minerva Crafts - little grey hedgehog

Next up (depending on incoming baby’s timing) is sewing some summer clothes for the Hobbit as she doesn’t have much that fits from last year. As she’s in uniform most days until the end of June I hope I’ll be able to get somethings done in time.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sewing

Leave a Reply

