Steggie and AhTop

My kids are rather obsessed with dinosaurs. When I discovered that Heidi Bears had written a stegosaurus pattern I was thrilled because her creatures are adorable. My original plan was to make a stegosaurus for Hobbity-Boo because they’re her favourite and then do another one without the plates to be a diplodocus for Wee Man. Then I found her more recent triceratops pattern so Wee Man will be getting an AhTop instead.

They helped pick the colours. The stegosaurus will be purple/pink with yellow plates. Wee Man says his favourite is blue (I’m not convinced he really knows about favourites just yet) and was also excited by the orange so the triceratops will be mostly blue with an orange face and some orange on the frill too. I’m using Stylecraft Special DK and a 2.5mm hook.

The pictures below show the colour scheme but are missing the darkest colour of both the blue and the purple which will be used to join the motifs together. The stegosaurus requires 65 and the triceratops 50 separate motifs. I’m planning to get all the motifs of both of them finished before I start joining them together as they both need to be finished at the same time. I will need to buy a bunch of stuffing though as I’m pretty sure I don’t have nearly enough.

In progress motifs for Heidi Bears stegosaurus and triceratops in Stylecraft Special DK - little grey hedgehog

1 Comment

Filed under Hobbit, Kids, Knitting and Crochet, Wee Man

One response to “Steggie and AhTop

  1. Pingback: FO: Rainbow Dash | little grey hedgehog

Leave a Reply

