FO: Latte Baby Coat for Wee Man

I’ve been sick with a cold for the last few days so haven’t been accomplishing as much as I’d like. I did however manage to finish Wee Man’s Latte Baby Coat. I only had the button band to go when I got sick and it is chunky yarn and big needles so did not take too much energy to finish up.

The pattern is written for sizes 0 to 4 and I made the 2T size for Wee Man. It’s a bit big on him at the moment – mostly in the sleeves, but he won’t be 2 for another 5 months so I’m not surprised. He has lots of sweaters in his current size but we are lacking in the next size up. I made the hooded version but have not added any pockets. The cardigan is knitted from the top down starting with the hood and is a seamless raglan. The button band is picked up and knitted in a woven basket stitch pattern following completion of the body. The hems are garter stitch. It has only four buttons in a 2 x 2 pattern though obviously you can add more. I used some square wooden ones that I purchased for this a while ago (before I purchased yarn). I used the recommended yarn for the pattern – Cascade Eco+ but had to use bigger needles to get gauge. Hobbit is annoyed that the cardigan I am knitting for her is not the same colour as she is in a matchy matchy phase at the moment.

Latte Baby Coat


Pattern: Latte Baby Coat by Lisa Chemery

Yarn: Cascade Eco+ in Shire ~ 240g (including 4 swatches). The pictures on Wee Man are most true to colour

Needles: 7mm and 8mm KnitPro Nova Interchageables.

Notes: Used Judy’s Magic Cast On for the hood, worked in magic loop back and forth until there was enough fabric. The woven stitch was a bit tight on the first row which made things slow but sped up after that.

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting and Crochet, Wee Man

Leave a Reply

