Organising

We’re having a holiday at home at the moment and I’ve been busy trying to put the house in order. Whilst we’ve been happily moved in there have been some bits that needed storage solutions and some bits that just needed clearing out a bit or re-arranging.

One of the things I’ve be re-organising is my knitting and crochet supplies. This involved sorting through all the yarn and working out what I’d actually use as opposed to what I thought I should use and sorting out all my needles. The sorting of needles required a better storage solution than them all hanging out in a tote bag. The circulars were mostly in their original packets but some had lost the section which held the needle size which made things a bit confusing. I mostly use my interchangeables these days which have their own case but don’t want to actually get rid of the fixed circulars just yet. I purchased an A5 ring-binder and plastic sleeves to go in it, stuck labels on and sorted by size. The lengths are easy enough to work out so each size takes up one pocket. It’s keeping them all tidy without taking up too much space and doesn’t need to be portable.

My crochet hooks have never had a case and my dpn case only took needles up to 5mm so there were a bunch of dpns and hooks floating around in that tote bag too. I looked around for ideas online and found a good tutorial here that I followed pretty much to the letter for the dpns and modified the size for the hooks. The hook case was made with base size of 30cm by 20cm but I probably could have used 18cm for the height and still been fine. The fabric all came from stash as did the ribbon and lace embellishments. The one change I made from the tutorial was that most of my needle sets were bunch up when I pinned their pockets instead of flat. There was a little extra space at the end so I made space for a needle gauge (useful when it comes to unmarked dpns) and a few more small pockets for extra sets of some of the small sizes that I have in multiple lengths.

Needle Rolls

The dpn case has pockets for: 2mm, 2.25mm, 2.5mm, 2.75mm, 3mm, 3.25mm, 3.5mm, 4mm, 4.5mm, 5mm, 5.5mm, 6mm, 6.5mm, 7mm, 8mm, 9mm, 10mm, needle gauge, extra needles. (I don’t currently have 7, 8 or 9mm dpns but have left pockets for them anyway).

The crochet hook case has pockets for: 0.6mm, 0.75mm, 1mm, 1.25mm, 1.75mm, 2mm, 2.5mm, 3mm, 3.5mm, 4mm, 4.5mm, 5mm, 5.5mm, 6mm, 7mm, 8mm, 9mm, 10mm and has space for a couple of bigger hooks at the end. I’m currently missing 2mm and 9mm hooks.

Leave a comment

Filed under Sewing

Leave a Reply

