FO: Spring Garden Sugared Violets

Blocking today is my Sugared Violets Shawl knitted out of Sweet Georgia Yarn purchased at the Edinburgh Yarn Fest. I started the shawl back in July but it was put aside in favour of knitting more socks. When I did get back to it I accidentally worked a few too many body rows before counting stitches so the shawl is part way between the small and large sizes.

The yarn I fell in love with online before the festival and when I saw it in person I decided I had to buy it. I love the colours and I’m pretty happy with the variegation as it’s worked in the shawl (it’s always a bit of a gamble when you fall in love with the skein). The yarn was great to work with, the colours are super vibrant and the stitch definition is super. I would happily work with the yarn again.

The shawl is crescent shaped according to the pattern but the ends wanted to curl in more than I would have thought for a true crescent, I blocked it how it want to go anyway. The body is stockinette with a few eyelet rows and then and lace patterned border. My border is a bit narrower than the pattern and the body a bit larger. The pattern pictures are shown with a solid yarn but I think it has worked well with the variegation and that it would also work quite well for a gradient yarn. It is a well written pattern and I may one day knit it again as I am looking forward to it being dry so I can wear it.

Spring Garden Sugared Violets


Pattern: Sugared Violets by Rose Beck

Yarn: Sweet Georgia Tough Love Sock in Spring Garden ~94g

Needles: 4mm KnitPro Nova interchangeables

Notes: Worked the body of the shawl as per the large directions, only worked 2 repeats instead of 3 of the mesh border pattern. Used Jeny’s Surprisingly Stretchy Bind Off

Ravelry project: here

1 Comment

Filed under Knitting and Crochet

One response to “FO: Spring Garden Sugared Violets

  1. Pingback: End of Summer | little grey hedgehog

Leave a Reply

