FO: Grey tote bag

If you’ve been following along for a while you might have noticed that I like to make bags. I like things to have there own home so there are lots of project bags and I’m always trying to get the perfect bag so I only need one bag. What the perfect bag actually is changes regularly and what I need bags for also changes a lot. Recently I’ve been finding the messenger bag I made several years ago is either too big or not big enough and started thinking about a new bag.

The bag I decided on (for now anyway) is the Multi Tasking Tote from The Bag Making Bible. It’s a good size (in the photos below you can see it full of my haul from the Edinburgh Yarn Festival), and has lots and lots of pockets. It’s also got the bonus of expandability. There are snaps to hold the ends closed which makes for a much narrower profile. I’ve found the straps a good length and the outside pockets are great for shoving things in that you’re just going to pull out again soon after.

I’m pleased with how it came out and think it’ll be very useful – in particular for taking to Knit Night at the moment. I’ve yet to test whether my laptop will fit in the main pocket (or the outside ones for that matter) but suspect it will which adds another bit usefulness. The pattern is straight forward though involved more pattern pieces than I expected at first glance. There are three different styles of pockets involved and two fastening methods as well. Unlike in the pattern I only added fusible fleece to the base and only used interfacing at the reinforcement points. The bag is thus nice and flexible but because I used canvas for the outer sturdy as well. Oh and the pattern indicates that you cut out the handle base and a set of handles from the outer fabric but I (and the sample in the book) used the trim fabric instead.

Grey Tote


Pattern: Multi-Tasking Tote from the Bag Making Bible

Designer: Lisa Lam

Fabric: Grey canvas for outer, light grey classic cotton for lining, rainbow ornament for trim, all from myfabrics.co.uk

Thread: White for all – most of the topstitching is on the trim.

Notes: used trim fabric for outer handles and handle bases, only used fusible fleece on the base and didn’t interface except at reinforcing points.

1 Comment

Filed under Sewing

One response to “FO: Grey tote bag

  1. oh that is a lovely bag. Tabitha

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

