Edinburgh Yarn Festival Loot

I spent yesterday at the Edinburgh Yarn Festival. I had a great time and came away completely exhausted. The Corn Exchange where it was hosted was a great venue – plenty of room for both stalls and for sitting, eating and knitting. The only hiccup we had was the fast track entry line was far slower than the pay on door line. There were warnings about parking being limited but we were able to find street parking very close by just before the venue opened. I suspect people arriving later in the morning would have struggled but things cleared out again later in the day.

Edinburgh Yarn Festival LootI purchased only one item that was not even slightly on my list. The purple and green SweetGeorgia sock yarn up on the left hand side. I saw this colourway (Spring Garden) online not long ago and really liked it and then saw it again at the festival. I resisted it because it wasn’t in the plan but ended up buying it on a whim at the end of the day. At the moment I have no pattern in mind but am thinking shawl rather than socks.

The top left is Old Maiden Aunt Superwash BFL Aran to make A Better Bucket Hat (I already have a button I was looking to match). The colourway is Army & Navy,  a dark grey slightly semi-solid.

Bottom left is a butterfly batt of alpaca and merino plus stellina sparkle from The Threshing Barn. It is a mix of turquoise and black fibre. This was my one fibre purchase as I have plenty I’ve not spun (some from the last Edinburgh Yarn Festival 2 years ago). I haven’t spun from a batt before so it’s a new thing to try.

The two skeins above the fibre and the top two photos on the right hand side are both for the same design project. I have a plan for some colourwork mittens in both a fingerless and fingered style and bought these to test it out. The rainbow plus the grey are for the fingerless mitts and the other two for the full mittens. The mitten yarn is Jamieson & Smith 2ply jumperweight (colours 2 and 80). The miniballs (in colours Tudor, Brandy, Marzipan, New Lawn, Pegasus and Iris) are JC Rennie as is the silver grey skein.

The last photo at bottom right is 7 skeins of sock yarn from 6 different dyers (I had wanted 7 different dyers but struggled with the final colour). As you can see there’s a rainbow. I have a plan to design and knit a pair of socks in each colour of the rainbow. As yet I’ve only one fully realised but have strong ideas for the others and need to do some experimenting. The red and indigo are both from Ripples Crafts. The red is Poppy and the indigo School Day Blues. The orange is from Easy Knits (they have fabulous colours and I was tempted by a lot of other things in their stall). The yarn is Deeply Wicked in the Tangello colourway. The yellow is from Yarn Garden, their Bartram Oak Sock yarn in the Tangutica (Clematis) colourway. The green is Eden Cottage Yarns in their Tempo 4ply, colourway Algae. The blue is from The Border Tart, dyed with indigo so doesn’t actually have a colourway. The violet is from Debonnaire in the appropriately named Deep Violet colourway. The yarn is their high twist sock.

And that’s the yarn. I thoroughly enjoyed my day out without the children and made the most of it by sitting eating cake and knitting in the afternoon for a bit before my last trip around the marketplace.

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting and Crochet, Spinning, Stash

Leave a Reply

