FO: Cable Vest

This is a slight fail of a finished object and I debated about blogging about it at all but I do plan to try again one day so thought I’d do this post for reference.

I wanted to make Wee Man a vest to wear over the summer and wanted to use up some stash yarn while I was at it. I couldn’t find a pattern that fit the idea in my head so worked out some measurements and charted up the cable idea I had and set about making a bit of a pattern to follow. Unfortunately it took me so long to get on with things and actually get it finished that he’s grown too much and it doesn’t actually fit. I do really like the way the cable came out so think I’ll recalculate the size and make a bigger version in a month or two. I may also put buttons on one shoulder to make it easier to get on as the main problem was getting it over his head. It did go on but was very snug before I finished the i-cord edging around the neck (may also have needed to pick up some more stitches here).

It was a good experience if not a useful finished object.

Cable Vest

Knitted for: Wee Man if he was shrinking instead of growing

Size: Probably 3-6 month size

Wool used (colourway): Cygnet Wool Rich Aran (0044) (leftovers from March Basic Cardigan) ~ 63g

Needle: 4.5mm

Ravelry Project Link: here

Notes: The cables got out of sync somewhere on the vneck even though there are the same number of rows so must a delayed a cable cross somewhere. The ribbing flows into the cable and the cable splits to go up both sides of the neck. Would consider putting the small cables up the back to meet at the shoulder next time. Also buttons on at least one shoulder. Worked in the round to the armholes then flat. 3 needle bind off at shoulders – would graft if using cables on the back. Applied i-cord on armholes and neck.

Leave a comment

Filed under Design, Knitting and Crochet, Wee Man

Leave a Reply

