Knit-a-longs

I have a tendency to plan ahead when it comes to projects and often have skipped joining in on knit-a-longs (kal) because none of my plans fit in. In the last month three have crossed my path and I’ve managed to adjust my plans to fit with all of them. The first I’ve already posted about though it’s still ongoing and I mentioned in that post that I was starting another one. What I didn’t mention was that I was going to try and squeeze another one in in between.

One of the groups I belong to on Ravelry proposed a hat-a-long at short notice. I ummed for a while then an idea came into my head and I found stash yarn that would work so decided to join in. The kal started last Friday and finishes tomorrow. I swatched after finishing wwwww1 and then cast on. The hat is for Wee Man and is a simple overlapping garter band with button embellishment and stockinette body. As planned it’s little big for now but should be perfect for winter.

Brown Button Hat

Knitted for: Wee Man

Yarn used (colourway): Wendy Mode DK (218 Brown) ~ 35 grams

Needle: 3.75mm

Ravelry Project Link: here

 

The other kal is the Lush-Pod-Kal which is being run by four podcasters (Shinybees, Knit British, Knit Spin Cake and Caithness Craft Collective) over 8 weeks. This kal is for a single pattern – the Lush Cardigan by TinCanKnits and published in their Handmade in the UK (e-)book. The pattern can be purchased individually or as part of the e-book or hard copy book. I’ve purchased the e-book as I hope to one day also make the Vivid blanket and on looking at the patterns quite like the look of several others (in particular the Loch hat).

The cardigan has an interesting construction (you work the lace yoke separately and then work up and down from there) and comes in sizes from 0-6month (19″) to 4XXL (60″). I fully expect to knit one for The Hobbit someday (maybe matching maybe not). I’m knitting mine out of birthday yarn from nearly four years ago when we visited New Lanark. The yarn is pure wool dk in the cherry colourway and has previously been intended for two other sweaters. Here’s hoping this one gets finished, so far I’ve completed the lace yoke and I’m now waiting for it to dry before picking up stitches for the collar.

Lush (6)

 

1 Comment

Filed under Craft Along, Knitting and Crochet, Wee Man

One response to “Knit-a-longs

  1. Pingback: Slow growing WiPs | little grey hedgehog

Leave a Reply

