FO: Great Getaway Bag

It’s finished! The final bit of sewing was not as onerous as I thought it was going to be and so it’s actually all done a few days earlier than I thought it’d be.

It’s a good size, has one external pocket, an internal zip pocket as well as open pockets on the other side. It’s also got both handles (leather) and an adjustable shoulder strap as well as feet in the base to keep it off the ground. The outside is polka dot oilcloth (ordered from Amazon as a tablecloth) with calico type lining and bits of black trim (the shoulder strap and corners as well). There’s a big chunky zip on the top with neat little zip pulls to make it easier to open. I think I rather like it. It’s definitely not perfect and certainly stretched my skills and my sewing machine but it does what I wanted and I made it all myself.

Great Getaway Bag

Pattern: Great Getaway Bag

Designer: Lisa Lam (The Bag Making Bible)

Sewn for: Me

Fabric: Oilcloth, calico and scraps of black plus hardwear from U-Handbag

Thread: Gutermann 000 (black) & a couple of different creams

Any problems/changes: Sewed the base of the lining together with the base of the exterior by hand as it just wasn’t happening on the machine. Some issues with fitting the pieces together in parts – I suspect this is my bad cutting/seam allowances rather than the pattern though.

4 Comments

Filed under Craft, Sewing

4 responses to “FO: Great Getaway Bag

  1. BL

    Wow, this is awesome! I’m generally intimidated by anything that is not a nice safe woven!

    Like

  2. Pingback: FO: Two bags, a dress and a taggie blanket | Azzy's Attic

  3. Pingback: I made a bag… | little grey hedgehog

Leave a Reply

