Works in Progress

After a whole flurry of finished objects I’ve come to making some bigger/longer projects (I’ve also a few little secret projects too but they’ll be staying quiet for a while longer). I’ve been making progress on the Great Getaway Bag. The exterior is almost complete – the base needs to be stitched on and the strap attached but all the fiddly bits are done. Then there’s the lining to stitch (including a pocket) before the whole thing gets put together. It’s actually looking bag like after a whole bunch of tiny little steps that made a limited amount of sense.

I’ve started work on a snuggle sack for Squishy for in the carrycot part of the stroller. It’s the Papoose pattern from the book I was given for my birthday – Knitting Gifts for Baby, and I just fell in love with the pattern picture. I hope Squishy will be as cosy. I’d been thinking about whether we needed a snowsuit or something for stroller trips when baby is wee but hadn’t made a decision (we never used one with Hobbit as it was a mild winter and she was in a carrier all the time anyway). It’s a marl grey out of Drops Karisma which is a superwash DK (the same as I used for Puerperium and Aviatrix).

WiPs

The blue swatch is the beginnings of Watercourse for me. I finally made a decision on yarn (more Drops this time Nepal, an alpaca and wool blend aran). The colour is called Royal Blue but it’s much greyer than what I would term royal blue. The swatch is to size so now I just need to cast on.

Looking back at the post I made at the end of September about my plans for October I think I did pretty well. I finished Temperance, the second Tiramisu baby blanket (and in fact have just done a third for a baby due in February) and the Olympic Forest Baby Blanket. I did not get much spinning done.

I finished the Poppy hat and Binic Sweater for Hobbit as well as making Snug for Squishy (and yes it does have buttons now) as well as a pair of baby booties.

And sewing wise I finished up the trousers for Squishy, made some good progress on the Getaway Bag, sewed some project bags as well as making a Mei Tai.

For November: Knitting: work on Watercourse, Papoose. Sewing: finish the Great Getaway Bag and then get in fabric for overalls and a dress for Hobbit. Spin! Finish all my Christmas gifts so they can be sent and do some more work on non Christmas cards (I finished all the tops but need to put them together and work on the more unique ones).

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby, Craft, Hobbit, Knitting and Crochet, Sewing

Leave a Reply

