Prizewinning books

So while I don’t go looking for for prizewinning books at the library sometime I’ll pick one out without realising it thinking that the blurb sounds promising and that the cover looks good. The majority of the time I find that I barely get into the book before giving up and most of the time it’s because of the writing style. This holds true for a lot of my giving up on books though I probably give up on just as many when bad things start happening to characters I have become attached to (though sometimes then I just cheat and check the ending).
In the last week I’ve read two prizewinning books that I enjoyed. The first – ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ – is one that comes up in discussions and lists of books one should read in their lifetime. I never studied it at school and nor had I previously run across it in a library. I enjoyed it – it was intriguing but probably not nearly as thought provoking as it was when it first came out. It discusses things that are part of history now (happening as they did before I was born) and things that affected people on the other side of the world far more than where I grew up.

The second book ‘Room’ was a finalist for the Man Booker Prize last year. I’d previously read two other books by the same author and enjoyed them so was prepared to give this a try even though its subject matter is miles away from the others. I started reading it last night when it was already late intending to just read for a short while before going to sleep. I read 3/4 of it before deciding I really must go to sleep and then finished it first thing this morning. The book was very hard to put down and thoughts of it are still on my mind.

So I shall continue to not avoid prizewinning books (even though most of them I’ve come across haven’t been my cup of tea) and hope to come across more books like these. Perhaps I will try and read a few more of the top 100 books on purpose rather than by chance.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

