Hollow

Waking up yesterday morning to the news that my hometown had been devastated by an earthquake was not the best start to the day. My family and friends are all fine and their houses are relatively undamaged. As most are associated with the university they are facing disruption to the new semester but it does mean they are lucky enough to live on the more stable side of town.

Looking at the photos and stories online has left me feeling rather hollow inside. Whilst no one I know is in trouble from the earthquake it leaves me with the feeling that home will never be the same again. We’ve been in Scotland for 18 months now but I’d still say Christchurch is where I come from. It’s where I met my husband and where we were married. I don’t know when I’ll next visit there and in some ways want to preserve the image in my head rather than see the changes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Home, News

Leave a Reply

